The Cookie Knows Your Future

I actually do like Chinese food, I promise

The atmosphere of the local Panda Express was rich with color and character. When not distracted by the florescent black and white pandas on the wall I was tantalized with the aroma that formed a symbiotic relationship with my clothes that lingered over an hour later. The definitive decision of either fried rice or chow mein was placed before me. The choice was obvious. I picked both.

As my deep fried meal was concluded, I happily anticipated the seemingly unforeseen fortunes found within the confines of the compressed sugar fortune cookies.For years I have been captivated and mesmerized by the wisdom of the Asian ancient culture. For some untold reason the fortune writers have consistently and prophetically known my future.

I think I discovered the secret.

My most recent visitation to the deep fried chicken goodness left me with the following gratuitous fortune, “You could be successful in the medical field.” Just in case you were wondering, I am a Business Management degree holder that has never been especially attuned to anything medical or biological. However, with the above-stated fortune I have been contemplating a career switch. The prospects of the word “could” contained in the fortune make it seem so much more possible.

Then I began to think logically.

How often have you received a fortune that illustrated a future that was actually possible? I feel like it happens more than I am comfortable with. I decided that the wisdom of the fortune cookie is vagueness; vagueness that will always be true. The word “could” in the fortune turned a promised future into a potential path taken.

I have decided to try my luck at providing Chinese wisdom through the fortune cookie medium. Below are my results:

  • You will have things happen to you today
  • If you win the lottery, you will be able to buy things
  • Your closest friends are the ones who remember your birthday without Facebook
  • This month you will meet a new person that will look different than you and will possibly be wearing a hat
  • This month you will do one of two things; you will go on a nice vacation, or you will stay at home
  • If you rob a bank you will go to prison

Last but not least…

  • You are being watched

Let me know if any of these ever end up in your cookies because I want royalties.

2 thoughts on “The Cookie Knows Your Future

  1. Chad, this so true, and the fact that I don’t really like fotune cookies, I am still mesmerized by what I might stumble onto in that cookie. I always break apart the cookie and am always amazed how dissappointed I am, because it has nothing even linked to my life. Oh well, that won’t keep from hoping.

Leave a comment